Home | Competitions | The SprinNG Women Authors Prize In Nigeria

The SprinNG Women Authors Prize In Nigeria

Applications are now open for The SprinNG Women Authors Prize 2020 for female authors in Nigeria.

Why a Women Authors Prize at SprinNG?

While there has been a definite increase in Nigeria’s literary engagement within the past decade, especially with the use of technology, there are still improvements to be made. SprinNG intends to encourage and equip developing Nigerian writers. However, in doing so, through submissions for publications and contests, as well as participation in their writing fellowship, they have observed a lack of female involvements and visibility. When they looked outwardly, observing the works of sister Nigerian literary websites and recognitions, they found strong evidence and reports confirming their conclusions.

The SprinNG Women Authors Prize (#SWAPng) ​will select a Nigerian Female Author annually – someone who has published a full-length book in print and invest N100,000 in purchasing, distributing, and marketing copies of their book Nation-wide through our sister literary websites and events whom they collaborate with. 

Who are they looking for?

They are simply looking for female Nigerian authors who have published excellent books that deserve to be promoted and supported. Only one Nigerian female author will be selected annually for this prize. However, they will use the opportunity to promote other select authors through interviews, book reviews, newsletter promotions, and collaborations to increase their visibility in the Nigerian literary sphere.

Application & FAQs

The online portal to apply for the SprinNG Women Authors Prize will open annually in July and close in September. The judges of the SprinNG Women Authors Prize will be announced in October once the application closes. 

They require a self-nomination process, meaning that prospective applicants will complete the application and nominate themselves. The author will only be able to submit one book for the nomination, and it can be of any genre and theme, self-published or released by a publisher in any year. There is no age or region eligibility required. The book nominated must be available for purchase in Nigeria

Click here to apply

Important Dates

July 1: Applications for the SprinNG Women Authors Prize opens

September 30: Applications for the SprinNG Women Authors Prize closes

October: Judges will be announced

October to December: Applications will be reviewed 

January 15: Prize winner will be announced

February – May: Authors books will be distributed

For more information visit SprinNG Women Authors Prize

Check Also

Call for Entries: European Union and ECOWAS 2021 Sexual and Gender Based Violence (SGBV) Short Video Competition.

Entries are invited for the 2021 Sexual and Gender Based Violence (SGBV) Short Video Competition. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.