Home | Online Courses | GLOBAL INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM NETWORK (GIJN) WEBINAR SERIES: Investigating the pandemic (with User-Generated Content)

GLOBAL INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM NETWORK (GIJN) WEBINAR SERIES: Investigating the pandemic (with User-Generated Content)

In many parts of the world, working as an investigative  journalist has long been perilous. Now, the COVID-19 pandemic brings yet another level of danger to the press: reporting on the ground and interviewing people face-to-face have become high-risk activities — even illegal in some countries. But there are ways to continue investigative work using your laptop, your wit and some very useful techniques — as three experienced investigators will highlight in this GIJN webinar, Using Open Source Information to Report from Home.

• Australia Broadcasting’s Sean Nicholls will explain how his team from ABC’s Four Corners program produced a powerful documentary about COVID-19’s human toll in Wuhan province in China — with the use of amateur video shot on smartphones.
 

• Open source experts Charlotte Godart, of investigative hub Bellingcat, and Gisela Perez de Acha Chavez, from the Investigations Lab at the University of California, Berkeley’s Human Rights Center, will focus on using a range of social media tools. They’ll also discuss how to identify, verify and protect sources.

This one-hour webinar is free and designed for journalists interested in investigating the pandemic. It is the sixth in a GIJN series, Investigating the Pandemic. Watch their Twitter feed @gijn 


Click here to sign up for the webinar.

Date: Thursday 30 April 2020
Time:NOTE one hour earlier than their usual webinars
7:00 (Bogota, Lima)
8:00 EDT (Washington DC)
9:00 (Buenos Aires)
13:00 BST (London, Abuja)
14:00 CET (Berlin, Paris)
15:00 MSK (Moscow, Kyiv)
18:00 (Dhaka)
19:00 (Jakarta)
20:00 CST (Hong Kong)
22:00 (Canberra)

For more information visit GIJN

Check Also

The QDance Center Calls For Participation: Resource (Creative Business meeting) for Emerging Dance Company Managers / Choreographers In Africa

QDance Center call for participation from emerging dance companies for Resource Creative business meeting. ReSource …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.