Home | Exhibitions | RSL’s LITERATURE MATTERS AWARDS 2020


Royal Society of Literature’s (RSL) Literature Matters Awards is open for submissions of proposals for writing, literary events or projects.

The RSL’s Literature Matters Awards is aimed at rewarding and enabling literary excellence and innovation. 

Each year, after an open call for proposals, the Awards are given to individual writers or other literary creators, recognising their past achievements and providing them with financial support to undertake a proposed new piece of writing or literary project.

Launched as part of the RSL’s Literature Matters programme, priority will be given to proposals which;

(a) will help connect with audiences or topics outside the usual reach of literature, and/or

(b) will help generate public discussion about why literature matters.

The 2020 Awards is open for submissions of proposals for writing, literary events or projects.

An RSL Literature Matters Award must result in new, original writing or other literary activity of an excellent artistic standard, which will reach a substantial readership or audience. 

The 2020 judges are Tessa Hadley, David Morley and Roy Williams.

It may be 

*a piece or pieces of writing

*a publication 

*an event a production 

on any subject and in any form, including (but not limited to) prose fiction or non-fiction, short stories, poetry, playwriting, screenwriting, graphic fiction, biography or travel-writing. 

The money may be used to fund all or part of the activity but may not be used for writing or any other activity which has already been completed.  

Please read the full Eligibility and Guidelines before applying.  

How To Apply

All submissions must be made by completing the Application Form – additional documents (e.g. letters, CVs, samples of work) will not be accepted.

organizer’s would also be grateful if applicants also completed the Equal Opportunities Monitoring Form

1.Online: To submit please complete the  

RSL Literature Matters Awards 2020 Application Form and 
RSL Literature Matters Awards Equal Opportunities Monitoring Form

2.By Email (preferred): to info@rsliterature.org using the heading RSL Literature Matters Award 2020. 

3.By post to: Martha Stenhouse
RSL Literature Matters Awards
Royal Society of Literature 
Somerset House
London WC2R 1LA 

Deadline: December 5

Check Also

Call for papers: AU ECHO 2021 Edition

Referencing the various African Union Charters and policy instruments relevant to the sector as well …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.